Omicron Variant: Hungary Imposing Travel Restrictions On Individuals From 7 SADC Countries

Hungary on Saturday said it will impose restrictions on travellers from Botswana, Lesotho, Swaziland, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe after a new coronavirus variant was detected in South Africa.

Hungary said it was joining a European Union move to curb air travel from southern Africa and that its measures would be published in a government decree later in the day.

On Friday, all 27 EU member states “agreed on the need to activate the emergency brake & impose temporary restrictions on all travel into EU from southern Africa”, the current Slovenian presidency of the EU said on Twitter.

This followed the detection of a new COVID-19 variant, Omicron, in South Africa. The variant has since been detected in Belgium, Botswana, Israel and Hong Kong.

On Friday, November 26, 2021Qatar Airways announced that “passengers will no longer be accepted for travel from South Africa, Zimbabwe and Mozambique” on its flights.

The airline stated that this decision will be effective immediately and will review the situation on a daily basis.

This Saturday, November 27, 2021, the airline tweeted that the ban will now include passengers from  Mozambique as well. In a statement on Twitter, Qatar Airways said:

With immediate effect, passengers will no longer be accepted for travel from South Africa, Zimbabwe and Mozambique on Qatar Airways flights, we will continue to review the situation on a daily basis as new information becomes available from the WHO.

It further stated that passengers travelling to South Africa, Zimbabwe and Mozambique will continue to be accepted on its flights in line with current restrictions.

More: Reuters; The Peninsula Qatar

Join WhatsApp & Telegram News Groups:

WhatsApp Group:

Telegram Group:

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share Full Post

Nyaradzo logo

RSS Recent Profiles Created