ED Appoints Obert Gutu To The National Peace & Reconciliation Commission

President Emmerson Mnangagwa has sworn in six new National Peace and Reconciliation Commission (NPRC) commissioners at State House this Friday.

The six commissioners are replacing commissioners whose terms have expired and will serve under the chairmanship of Justice Selo Nare who was only appointed in 2018.

Among the commissioners is Obert Chaurura Gutu, a former MDC national spokesperson and deputy justice minister during the all-inclusive government between 2009 and 2013. Gutu rejoined ZANU PF in March this year.

The other commissioners are Donwell Dube and Tinashe Rukuni, Reverend Chiropafadzo Moyo of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Zimbabwe, former deputy police commissioner-general crime Josephine Shambare and Nomaqhawe Gwere.

The commissioners are appointed on a five-year term which is renewable only for a second term.

In this particular Commission, President Mnangagwa retained the services of two commissioners, namely Ms Lillian Chigwedere and Dr Golden Chekenyere who were serving in the previous commission and whose term had expired.

More: The Herald

Join WhatsApp & Telegram News Groups:

WhatsApp Group: https://chat.whatsapp.com/BON0EojVZRRIxwFumxxXoj

Telegram Group:

Back to top

One Comment on “ED Appoints Obert Gutu To The National Peace & Reconciliation Commission

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share Full Post

Nyaradzo logo

RSS Recent Profiles Created