Names Of MPs To Replace Recalled MDC Alliance MPs Gazetted

The Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) has gazetted the names of legislators who will replace MDC Alliance Members of Parliament who were recalled by the MDC-T.

The names which ZEC chair, Justice Priscilla Chigumba gazetted include MDC interim president Thokozani Khupe, her spokesperson Khaliphani Phugeni, Yvonne Winfielda Musarurwa, Lindani Moyo, January Sawuke, Memory Munochinzwa, Lwazi Sibanda, Sipho Mokone, Molly Dorothy Ndlovu, Tamani Moyo, Gertrude Moyo, Piniel Denga, Chief Ndlovu, Nomalanga Khumalo and Teti Chisorochengwe.

Reads the latest Government Gazette:

It is hereby notified, in terms of section 39(7)(a) of the Electoral Act [Chapter 2:13], that persons listed in the Schedule nominated by the MDC -T party to fill the vacancies that occurred among the party list members of the National Assembly and the Senate following the recall of the incumbent members by the MDC-T party on the grounds that they had ceased to be members of that party, have been appointed as National Assembly party-list members and Senators respectively with effect from the date of publication of this notice.

This comes as by-elections to replace the recalled legislators and councillors are in limbo after the Health Minister, Vice President Constantino Chiwenga has amended the COVID-19 Regulations Act to block elections.

MDC-T leadership has since March this year been recalling MPs and councillors aligned to MDC Alliance leader Nelson Chamisa.

More: Daily News

Satisfaction survey
How likely is it that you would recommend Pindula News to a friend or colleague?
SuggestionsHow can we improve?
You have already submitted your feedback. If you would like to add more feedback please write us on

RSS Recent Pindula Profiles


Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.