ZHRC Statement On The Resignation Of Four Commissioners {Full Text}

The Zimbabwe Human Rights Commission (ZHRC) wishes to notify all its valued partners and stakeholders of the retirement of four Commissioners namely: Commissioners (Dr) Ellen Sithole (former Deputy Chairperson), Dr Joseph Kurebwa, Kwanele M. Jirira and Japhet Ndabeni-Ncube, with effect from the 7th May 2020.

Before the retirement of the four Commissioners, there was already a vacancy after the resignation of Commissioner Carrol T. Khombe on the 3oth of October 2018.

The ZHRC is left with only four Commissioners, out of a full complement of nine Commissioners. The remaining four Commissioners do not constitute a quorum, which is supposed to be five.

This means that as of now the ZHRC cannot hold Commission meetings for purposes of making policy resolutions or adoption of monitoring and investigation reports.

This handicap prevents the dissemination of ‘unadopted’ Commission reports which are being produced for activities that are currently taking place.

The reports which are being produced now are filed of record and will only be adopted by the Commission after new Commissioners have been appointed.

In the meantime, the Commission can only share statements which provide highlights of the activities being carried out.

Processes for recruitment of new Commissioners are currently underway. Parliament advertised the positions but interviews have not yet been conducted due to disruption of Parliament business by the national lockdown.

With the resumption of operations by Parliament, it is our hope that new Commissioners will be appointed without delay.

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

RSS Recent Profiles Created

Satisfaction survey
How likely is it that you would recommend Pindula News to a friend or colleague?
SuggestionsHow can we improve?
You have already submitted your feedback. If you would like to add more feedback please write us on hello@pindula.com.