3 MDC MPs Face Expulsion From Parliament

Three MDC Alliance MPs face expulsion from Parliament for absconding the August House without approval from the Speaker.

The three are left with only 9 parliamentary sitting days for them to show face in the National Assembly or lose their seats. The three are Charlton Hwende (Kuwadzana East), Godfrey Sithole (Chitungwiza North), and Joanah Mamombe (Harare West).

The three went into hiding during the January riots after security agents went after them, accusing them of having masterminded the disturbances.

Speaking to Newsday on Tuesday, leader of the opposition in the National Assembly, Thabitha Khumalo said:

I wrote to the Speaker and he has not responded yet, but I am still hoping that he will respond soon because the three MPs can lose their seats if they absent themselves for 21 consecutive days.

The three have to bite the bullet and make a decision – either to come back and face arrest – and hopefully, they will be judged fairly through evidence and not speculation, and hopefully, they will not be beaten up or tortured.

… I am gutted because, as leader of the opposition in the House, I seem to be fighting at all fronts without recourse because all MPs have rights and immunity, but it seems opposition MPs are not being protected.

Hwende is chairman of the Parliamentary Portfolio Committee on Information, Communication Technology, but in his absence – and if the committee is operating it means Zanu PF is in control.


More: Newsday

Join WhatsApp & Telegram News Groups:

WhatsApp Group: https://chat.whatsapp.com/BON0EojVZRRIxwFumxxXoj

Telegram Group:

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share Full Post

Nyaradzo logo

RSS Recent Profiles Created