EU Member States Agree To Lift The Air Travel Ban On Southern African Countries

European Union (EU) member states have agreed to lift the air travel ban on southern African countries, which will allow more travel to resume.

France, which holds the rotating EU presidency, said in a tweet that the decision lifts the so-called emergency brake introduced in November following the detection of the Omicron, a coronavirus variant in South Africa. Pindula News presents France’s tweet:

Member States have agreed this morning at IPCR meeting to lift the emergency break to allow air travel to resume with southern African countries. Travellers from this area will still be subject to the health measures applicable to travellers from third countries.

European nations had suspended most air travel from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe.

The union maintained the limits even after cases continued to surge around the world, despite an outcry from the region.

More: Pindula News

Join WhatsApp & Telegram News Groups:

WhatsApp Group: https://chat.whatsapp.com/BfSIgXzFrX81Ht5SFN2Yyu

Telegram Group:

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share Full Post

Nyaradzo logo

RSS Recent Profiles Created