9 Mthwakazi Activists Further Remanded

The nine members of the secessionist Mthwakazi Republic Party (MRP), who were arrested during a protest in Bulawayo in April, were on Wednesday further remanded to 8 November.

The activists appeared before Bulawayo magistrate Tawengwa Sangster on Wednesday charged with disorderly conduct.

They are denying the public violence charge.

They are being accused of staging a violent protest outside Bulawayo Central Police Station in April.

They were allegedly singing anti-government songs and burning tyres while blocking the driveway to the police station.

The activists were protesting the alleged harassment of their president, Mqondisi Moyo after his house was raided at night by security agents.

Following their arrest, they spent more than a month at Khami Prison before they were granted bail by Sangster.

The MRP activists are national league chairperson Sibongile Banda, Busi Moyo, Tino Nkomo, Mongameli Mlotshwa, Livvson Ncube, Welcome Moyo, Nkosilathi Ncube and Ackim Ndebele.

More: NewsDay

Join WhatsApp & Telegram News Groups:

WhatsApp Group: https://chat.whatsapp.com/B4vSeEOB3rNLugUMez75g8

Telegram Group: https://t.me/+E-dYp2NhsANlMGU0

Back to top

One Comment on “9 Mthwakazi Activists Further Remanded

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share Full Post

Nyaradzo logo

RSS Recent Profiles Created