Govt Lists Ecologically Sensitive Areas In Harare, Chitungwiza, Epworth, Ruwa

The Min of Environment, Climate, Tourism and Hospitality and the Environmental Management Agency (EMA) have declared wetlands in Harare, Chitungwiza, Ruwa and Epworth to be ecologically sensitive areas with the intention of imposing limitations on development in and around such areas. This follows a meeting which Zimbabwe Lawyers for Human Rights (ZLHR), Harare Wetlands Trust and other stakeholders held in December 2020 with Tourism minister Nqobizitha Ndlovu. ZLHR and their partners presented him with their submissions, several recommendations and measures to enhance the protection of wetlands. Pindula News presents a notice issued by EMA on the measures to protect wetlands.

Public Notice On Intention To Declare Certain Areas as Ecologically Sensitive Areas: City of Harare: City of Chitungwiza: Epworth and Ruwa Local Boards

NOTICE is hereby given that the Minister of Environment, Climate, Tourism and Hospitality Industry wishes to exercise his powers in terms of section 113 (1) of the Environmental Management Act (Chapter 20:271 by issuing a public notice of intention to declare wetlands in the Harare Metropolitan Province listed below as Ecologically Sensitive Areas. The declaration may impose limitations on development in and around such areas.

1. Wetlands Under City of Harare Ashbrittle, Borrowdale Brooke. Budiriro, Bluffhill, Braeside. Belvedere, Borrowdale West. Carrick Creech. Caledonia, Chisipite, Cleverand Darn, Dzivarasekwa. Epworth. Eastlea, Green Groove, Glen Lome. Glen Norah. Greyston Park. Glen View. Highfield, Highlands, Houghton Park. Harare South, Hatfield, Hetensvale. Kutsaga, Kuwadzana. Mabvuku. Mbare, Midlands, Mufakose, Mukuvisi, Malborough, Milton Park. Mount Pleasant. Monavale. Manyame, National Sports Stadium, Northwood, Prospect, Rockviow, Sunway City, Seke Dam, St. Patrick, Tafara, The Grange, Tynwald, University of Zimbabwe, Vainona. Waterfalls. Westlea, Warren Park. Rugare and Willowvale.

2. Wetlands Under City of Chitungwiza

ST Mary’s. Unit K. Unit A, Unit B, Unit D, Unit J. Unit L. Unit N, Unit 0. Unit P. Zengeza 2. Zengeza 4, -St Mary’s, Town Centre and Mason village.

3. Wetlands under Ruwa Local Board

Chiremba, Epworth, Caledonia, Harava, Ruwa, Tafara, Seke Dam, The Grange, Windsor, Thorncroft, Damafalls Phase 3, Damofalls Phase 5. Runyararo and Springvale.

4. Wetlands under Epworth Local board

Epworth, Rockview, Chiremba, Jacha, Glenwood and Rex

The extent and stretch is as defined in the Zimbabwe Wetlands map (Wetlands Master Plan 021 accessible on http://wetlands.ema.co.zw:8099/emawetlands)

Any person with submission(s) to make on the Intended declaration should contact Environmental Management Agency (EMA) on wetlands@ema.co.zw within 28 working days from the date of issue of this Notice.

This notice supersedes any other previous notice on the subject matter.

Some land barons have been illegally allocating wetlands stands to home seekers. Thousands of houses were demolished by authorities in recent years.

More: Pindula News

Download the Pindula App for a better user experience.

Join WhatsApp & Telegram News Groups:

WhatsApp Group: https://chat.whatsapp.com/EbOE8cWvMYyCNyLqi65db9

Telegram Group:

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share Full Post