Govt Reinstates Suspended Umguza RDC Councillors

The Government has reinstated four Umguza Rural District Council (RDC) councillors who were suspended last month by Local Government Deputy Minister, Marian Chombo.

The councillors are David Moyo (Ward 15), Mary Shelton (Ward 2), Earnest Sibanda (Ward 13) and Sisa Moyo (Ward 8).

They were suspended together with their chairperson, Councillor Alexander Mhlanga for allegedly working in cahoots with suspended Umguza RDC Chief Executive Officer Collen Moyo who is facing criminal charges to throw spanners into Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission (ZACC)’s investigations.

Umguza RDC is currently being investigated by ZACC on land allocation corruption and other related underhand deals.

The Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Local Government and Public Works, K. L Murefu-Tshuma wrote a letter to the concerned councillors’ lawyers, Tanaka Law Chambers dated 12 August, advising them that the Ministry had withdrawn suspension letters. The letter read:

We acknowledge receipt of the urgent chamber application. The Ministry has withdrawn the suspension letters. We, therefore, request a withdrawal of the matter before the courts.

Local Government and Public Works Minister, July Moyo has also written to the four councillors also notifying them of the withdrawal of the suspension letters. Moyo wrote:

Taking cognizance of the urgent chamber application, which you filed with the Bulawayo High Court, case no 1091/21, I hereby withdraw the suspension letter dated 2 July 2021.

More: CITE

Join WhatsApp & Telegram News Groups:

WhatsApp Group:

Telegram Group:

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share Full Post

Nyaradzo logo

RSS Recent Profiles Created