President Mnangagwa Appoints Constitutional Court Judges

President Emmerson Mnangagwa has appointed five judges of the Constitutional Court (ConCourt) and will be sworn in on Thursday.

The five justices are Paddington Garwe, Rita Makarau, Anne-Mary Goora, Ben Hlatshwayo and Bharat Patel.

They will take oath before the Acting Chief Justice Elizabeth Gwaunza.

Are you in Zimbabwe?
Read Pindula News without data on your phone on
Only Applicable to Econet lines


Before their appointment, the five were all acting judges of the Constitutional Court.

They were among the 12 candidates that participated in the public interviews conducted in September last year.

Mnangagwa however snubbed appointing High Court judge, Justice Happias Zhou to the ConCourt.

Justice Zhou came third after Justice Rita Makarau and Justice Paddington Garwe in last year’s public interviews for the ConCourt bench appointments.

On Saturday, Justice Zhou ruled former Chief Justice Luke Malaba’s five-year extension term of office by Mnangagwa as CJ was invalid.

Speaking in the aftermath of the ruling, Justice Minister Ziyambi Ziyambi rebuked Zhou, warning that the government was “going to poke the enemy in the eye and confront it”.

Join WhatsApp & Telegram News Groups:

WhatsApp Group:

Telegram Group:

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share Full Post

Nyaradzo logo

RSS Recent Profiles Created

Satisfaction survey
How likely is it that you would recommend Pindula News to a friend or colleague?
SuggestionsHow can we improve?
You have already submitted your feedback. If you would like to add more feedback please write us on
President Mnangagwa Appoints Constitutional Court Judges