Chamisa Moves To Oust MPs Who Attended Parliament

The opposition MDC Alliance has moved to oust four legislators who attended Parliament business last week defying the party’s directive for a boycott in support of the recall of lawmakers.

The legislators who are facing the chop are Peter Moyo (Southerton), David Tekeshe (Makoni Central), Winnie Kankuni (Sunningdale) and Senator Morgan Femai (Harare).

Fani Munengami, MDC Alliance Harare province spokesperson, said consultation meetings have ended in constituencies and members have recommended the expulsion of the quartet.

The report has been submitted to the national executive council to study and make a decision on it.

It reported however that the quartet led by Moyo and Femai last week to meet the party’s leader Nelson Chamisa to explain their reasons for attending Parliament business but Chamisa refused to meet them.

MDC Alliance ordered its lawmakers to boycott Parliament in response to the recall of its four legislators Charlton Hwende (Kuwadzana East), Prosper Mutseyami (Dangamvura), Thabitha Khumalo (MDC proportional representative) and Lillian Timveous (Midlands senator) by the Thokozani Khupe led group following the Supreme Court ruling which restored the 2014 structures in Zimbabwe’s biggest opposition political party.

More: Business Times

Satisfaction survey
How likely is it that you would recommend Pindula News to a friend or colleague?
SuggestionsHow can we improve?
You have already submitted your feedback the vote. If you would like to add more feedback please write us on


Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.