Zimbabwe Joins African Continental Free Trade Area

Zimbabwe on Sunday officially joined the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA).

Zimbabwe is a member of G6 (Group of Six) countries, a grouping that supports AfCFTA, but argues they face specific development challenges.

The other G6 members are Ethiopia, Madagascar, Malawi, Sudan and Zambia.

The Agreement Establishing the African Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA) entered into force on 30 May 2019 for the 24 countries that had deposited their instruments of ratification.

To date, 29 countries have both signed and ratified the AfCFTA Agreement. Of the 55 AU member states, only Eritrea has yet to sign.

It has been indicated that the start of trading under the AfCFTA Agreement will begin on 1 July 2020.

More: The Herald, Tralac

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

RSS Recent Profiles Created

Satisfaction survey
How likely is it that you would recommend Pindula News to a friend or colleague?
SuggestionsHow can we improve?
You have already submitted your feedback. If you would like to add more feedback please write us on hello@pindula.com.