First-ever To Reach 6: Messi Beats CR7 And Van Dijk To The Ballon D’Or

Barcelona striker, Lionel Messi last night won the Ballon d’Or in Paris, France to be the first-ever player to win it six times.

The second runner up was Liverpool’s Virgil Van Dijk whilst Ronaldo who chose to remain in Italy where he was awarded the Italy best player of the 2018/19 season came in the third position.

Brazilian legend, Kak’a (2007) is the last layer to win the Ballon d’Or before the race became confined to Messi and Ronaldo whilst Real Madrid midfielder, Luka Modric (2018) is the only player to have won the trophy since Ronaldo and Messi sharing it between themselves since 2008.

Ronaldo’s Juventus team-mate Georgio Chiellini said that it was difficult to choose the winner of this year’s Ballon d’Or. He said:

This year was rather difficult with Ronaldo, Messi and Van Dijk, it’s like choosing between Federer, Nadal and Djokovic.

Cristiano was glad to be there tonight, otherwise he would not have come.

He, however, claimed that last year’s ultimate winner, Ronaldo, was robbed when the trophy was given to Luka Modric.

More: The Sun

Quick NetOne, Telecel, Africom, And Econet Airtime Recharge

If anything goes wrong, click here to enter your query.

News On WhatsApp

Tap to join WhatsApp Group(no discussions)

If you find the group full, please notify us on +263 777 784 119 or +263 732 464 000.


Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.