ZANU PF Paralyses Parliamentary Portfolio Committees

ZANU PF MPs have continued to disrupt the work of Parliamentary Portfolio Committees, demanding that MDC Alliance MPs first recognise President Emmerson Mnangagwa as legitimate.

There was pandemonium in Parliament on Thursday after ZANU PF legislators disrupted the Portfolio Committee on Information and Media chaired by Binga North legislator Prince Dubeko Sibanda (MDC Alliance).

The Committee had invited the former Zimbabwe Media Commission commissioners to give oral evidence on the ZMC Bill currently before Parliament.

While the witnesses came, Zanu PF MPs Tendai Nyabani (Rushinga), Kindness Paradza (Makonde), Webster Shamu (Chegutu West) and Alum Mpofu (Mberengwa South) refused to sit until MDC legislators recognised Mnangagwa.

Meanwhile, Gabuza Joel Gabbuza, whose committee was yesterday gathering oral evidence from the Zimbabwe Energy Regulatory Authority (ZERA) and independent power producers on the capacity to generate electricity, could not chair the Energy Committee because ZANU PF MPs would not allow him to do so. It was later chaired by Elias Musakwa (ZANU PF).

Parliamentary Portfolio Committees’s main task is oversight over government ministries and departments.

More: NewsDay

Quick NetOne, Telecel, Africom, And Econet Airtime Recharge

If anything goes wrong, click here to enter your query.


Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.