Winky D & Majaivana Win At The Bulawayo Arts Awards

The Bulawayo Arts Awards, which this year are sponsored by Roil, have seen Zimdancehall sensational, Winky D winning the Outstanding Arts Personality from outside of Bulawayo award.

The awards event was held on June 29 at the Zimbabwe International Trade Fair (ZITF) hall 4. Below are some of the categories at this year’s edition and respective winners.

  1. First award for the night. Outstanding Poet scooped by Desire Moyo.
  2. The winner of the Outstanding Arts Personality from outside of Bulawayo is Winky D.
  3. Outstanding Arts Educator for High school award goes to Bridgete Sayers from Gifford High school.
  4. @urbanculture wins the award for outstanding online media.
  5. Outstanding MainStream media, for the third time in a row is won by @SkyzMetroFM.
  6. Outstanding Arts Photographer for the third time in a row at the @ByoArtsAwards is Mgcini Nyoni
  7. Outstanding Fiction award goes to Novuyo Tshuma author of House of Stone.
  8. Best director is Memory Kumbota (garden of dreams)
  9. Outstanding Theatre Actor award goes to Cedric Msongelwa and Ronald Msongelwa both from the film Zandezi
  10. The outstanding Theatre Actress is Charlene Mangweni of Ukama.
  11. The best television production at the @ByoArtsAwards is Ezakomatshelela.
  12. Outstanding Theatre Production Award scooped by Zandezi
  13. Outstanding Arts Journalist Across all boards is Bruce Ndlovu from @SundayNewsZimba
  14. The best schools effort(High school) award goes to Gifford High school.
  15. In the category of the outstanding TV/Film Actor, the winner is Calvin Madula @cally_madula for the film Ezakomatshelela.
  16. Award for Best Film/TV Director is won by Daniel Lasker.
  17. Daniel Lasker gets a second award for night for Outstanding Film category.
  18. Outstanding visual artist (2D) goes to Inkululeko by George Masarira.
  19. Outstanding visual artist (3D) award goes to Sikhulile P Sibanda-Ngibuhlungu.
  20. Outstanding Traditional Dance Ensemble award is won by Umkhathi Theatre Arts
  21. Contemporary dance Ensemble award goes to IYASA. Tonight two members of the group won best male and female dancers.
  22. The winner for the Outstanding female dancer category is from IYASA again-Lethokuhle Ncube
  23. Outstanding Comedian Award won by Q the Boss
  24. Outstanding high school actor is scooped by Bruce Gandiaru from Nketa High school.
  25. Outstanding Schools Effort (Primary Schools) award is won by Matshayiskhova Primary school.
  26. The award for the outstanding female model is won by Tholakele Dlamini.
  27. The outstanding Male Model is Ben Chest.
  28. The best fashion designer award is won by Empress-Prim.
  29. The winner for Outstanding Newcomer Across all genres is Tebza.
  30. The winner for Outstanding Ambassador of the Rest of the World is Insingizi.
  31. The winner for Outstanding Ambassador based in South Africa is Bekezela Nkomo.
  32. The winner for outstanding community engagement is Rachel Ncube
  33. The winner for Outstanding radio DJ is @Donna15N
  34. The winner for outstanding club DJ is Dj Eugy
  35. Lovemore Majaivana won the lifetime achievement award.
  36. The winner for outstanding gospel artist is Knowledge Nkiwane
  37. The winner for outstanding gqom/ kwaito/house is Skaiva
  38. Novuyo Seagirl’s “aeiou” is the song of the year.

More: CITE


Quick NetOne, Telecel, Africom, And Econet Airtime Recharge

If anything goes wrong, click here to enter your query.

News On WhatsApp

Tap to join WhatsApp Group (no discussions)

If you find the group full, please see the WhatsApp page to let us know.


Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.