South Africa’s Smaller Political Parties Concede Defeat

South Africa’s smaller opposition political parties resolved to accept the 8 May election final results that were announced by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC).

The 27 parties had earlier expressed concern over a number of irregularities witnessed during voting, the major issue is that of multiple voting.

However, speaking to the media after a party liaison committee meeting held by the Electoral Commission of SA (IEC) and the Statistician-General on Saturday, the unofficial spokesperson of the smaller parties, Mzwanele Manyi, said:

The 27-odd parties concede and accept the results.

We were suitably briefed by the Statistician-General and accept that although there is a margin of 0.1% likelihood that there might be contaminated votes, that isn’t enough to hold the IEC to ransom.

We accept the final results after the briefing by the Statistician-General on the independent audit process in which he revealed that from the 1 020 samples, there was a margin of error of less than a percentage hence it is not enough to influence the outcome seriously.

The 27 smaller political parties include Manyi’s African Transformation Movement (ATM), Mosiuoa Lekota’s Congress of the People (COPE) Hlaudi Motsoeneng’s African Content Movement (ACM) and the Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PACA).

More: News24

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

RSS Recent Profiles Created

Satisfaction survey
How likely is it that you would recommend Pindula News to a friend or colleague?
SuggestionsHow can we improve?
You have already submitted your feedback. If you would like to add more feedback please write us on