Police Release Names Of 11 Of 14 Victims Of The Hwedza Accident

An accident which claimed the lives of 14 people in Hwedza on Monday has been declared a State of Disaster.

7 people died on the spot while 7 later succumbed to injuries when a truck carrying maize side-swiped a bus which had encroached into its lane along Hweza-Mutiweshiri road.

The truck hit a Toyota Hilux and ploughed into Mugodhi Apostolic Church members who were standing by the roadside, waiting for transport.

Meanwhile, the Zimbabwe Republic Police (ZRP) has revealed some (11) of the names of the victims of the accident. These are as follows:

  1. Paul Mupombwa (50) of Zinhanga village
  2. Tabeth Viola Mupombwa (75) of Zinhanga village
  3. Elite Shambamuto (5) of Shambamuto village
  4. Eugenia Mutema (80) of Mutema village
  5. Sekai Chikukwa (70) of Mutema village, Chief Nyashanu
  6. Patricia Garwe (36) of Mukamba village (Chief Ruzanhe), Wedza
  7. Elisha Mubaira (45) of Ndangwe village under Chief Nyashanu
  8. Edna Chinoda (70) of Marume village under Chief Nyashanu, Buhera.
  9. Josephine Kwaramba (60) of Chawatama school, Chief Nyashanu
  10. Sheilla Mukamba (23)
  11. Isaac Pamhanzi (29).

Related Stories:

More: The Herald


Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.