Govt Scraps Duty For Cyclone Idai Donations

Government has scrapped duty and Value Added Tax (VAT) on all goods imported for onward distribution to survivors of Cyclone Idai in Manicaland and Masvingo provinces.

In a statement on Monday, the Zimbabwe Revenue Authority (Zimra) said qualifying goods should be for free distribution to people in need in the identified areas. The statement reads:

Zimbabwe is amongst the African countries that were affected by Cyclone Idai, which caused a trail of destruction that affected humans, animals and infrastructure. The President of Zimbabwe made an appeal to individual corporates, civic society and international community to provide assistance to the affected communities, mainly in Chimanimani, Chipinge and Bikita.

- - - Buy NetOne, Telecel Airtime on WhatsApp using EcoCash.
Send the word Airtime to +263 714 815 229
No extra charges. - - -

The Zimbabwe Revenue Authority administers regulations, which give relief on duties on imported goods donated by international organisations and to associations and organisations in Zimbabwe involved in charitable or welfare, in terms of Section 103 and 124 of the customs excise (General) regulations published in Statutory Instrument 154 of 2001, respectively.

Qualifying goods should be free for distribution to people in need. Interested organisations are encouraged to take advantage of these rebates provided for in the cited sections of regulation in order to reduce any burden of duty payments at this time of need

More: Herald

Satisfaction survey
How likely is it that you would recommend Pindula News to a friend or colleague?
SuggestionsHow can we improve?
You have already submitted your feedback the vote. If you would like to add more feedback please write us on


Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.