MDC Midlands Structures Merged In Power-sharing Deal

MDC Midlands structures entered into a powersharing arrangement over the weekend following the combining of Midlands north and south provinces ahead of the party’s Congress slated for May.

The process was overseen by the party’s organising secretary Amos Chibaya assisted by the national chairperson Tabitha Khumalo.

In an interview with Southern Eye, Chibaya said:

The basis of the power-sharing arrangement was to unite the party. The two provinces were going to be divided if we were going to say free-for-all in elections for the province which is now going to be one in line with our constitution. It will also ensure that tried and tested leaders emerge. It’s my vision to unite MDC.

… Midlands proved that it is clear that they are solidly behind the leadership of president N Chamisa.

MDC had twelve provinces previously while the country as a whole has 10 provinces.

Midlands was divided into two, namely Midlands North and South, while Chitungwiza was not part of Harare metropolitan but stood on its own.

MDC spokesperson Jacob Mafume said that the move to reduce the number of provinces from 12 to 10 was in line with provisions of the amended MDC constitution.


More: Newsday

Download the Pindula App for a better user experience.

Join WhatsApp & Telegram News Groups:

WhatsApp Group: https://chat.whatsapp.com/EbOE8cWvMYyCNyLqi65db9

Telegram Group:

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share Full Post