Mushekwi Called Up For Warriors After Being Banned Last Year


Nyasha Mushekwi has been named in the Warriors squad to face Congo-Brazzaville in an Afcon qualifier on September 9. The striker who is prolific form was one of four players banned from playing for the national team last year after allegations of indiscipline. Mushekwi, together with then captain Willard Katsande, Mathew Rusike and Cuthbert Malajila, were banned after they allegedly lead the Warriors in boycotting a send-off dinner which was attended by President Emmerson Mnangagwa, who was a vice president then. The players were protesting the non-payment of bonuses.

The Warriors provisional squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: George Chigova (Polokwane), Donovan Benard (Ngezi), Edmore Sibanda (Witbank), Talbert Shumba (Chapungu)

Defenders: Divine Lunga (Golden Arrows), Tendayi Darikwa (Nottingham Forest), Alec Mudimu (Cefn Druids AFC), Costa Nhamoinesu (Sparta Prague), Teenage Hadebe (Chiefs), Kevin Moyo (FC Platinum), Eric Chipeta (Cape Umoya United), Adam Chicksen (Bradford City), Byron Madzokerere (Yadah)

Midfielders: Marshall Munetsi (Orlando Pirates), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Azam), Ovidy Karuru (Amazulu), Marvelous Nakamba (Club Brugge), Richard Hachiro (Herentals), Talent Chawapiwa (Baroka), Kudakwashe Mahachi (Orlando), Leeroy Mavunga (Yadah)


Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs), Knowledge Musona (Anderlecht), Evans Rusike (SuperSport), Kelly Lunga (SC Bonner), Terrence Dzvukamanja (Bidvest Wits), Nyasha Mushekwi (Dalian Yifang), Tinotenda Chibharo (FK Sloboda Uzice)

More: NewsDay

Join WhatsApp & Telegram News Groups:

WhatsApp Group:

Telegram Group:

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share Full Post

Nyaradzo logo

RSS Recent Profiles Created