Zifa Vindicated As Fifa Awards 2026 World Cup To USA, Canada and Mexico

Use EcoCash to buy NetOne & Telecel airtime online. Tap here

The decision made by the Zimbabwe Football Association (Zifa) to back the joint United States-Canada-Mexico bid to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup seems to have paid off as the North American countries were awarded the 2026 World Cup by Fifa. Zimbabwe supported the joint bid ahead of that of fellow African country Morocco. Said Chiyangwa back then,

We have consulted our Government. The Zimbabwe Government is warming to the United bid, and that will inform our vote accordingly. We had a meeting with the Minister of Foreign Affairs, and I’m happy to say that the Zimbabwe Government is happy to support the United bid.

The US, Canada and Mexico’s United bid won 67  percent (134 votes) of the vote while Morocco received 33 percent (65 votes) of the vote. One country, Togo,  did not vote.   Said US Soccer president Carlos Cordeiro,

Thank you so, so much for this incredible honour. Thank you for entrusting us with this privilege. We are all united in football, the beautiful game transcends borders and cultures. Football today is the only victor.

More: BBC


Zimbabwe Football Association

Zimbabwe Football Association (ZIFA) is the football governing body responsible for organizing all football competitions. Read More About Zimbabwe Football Association

WhatsApp Discussions

Click to subscribe to a Pindula WhatsApp Group:

If you find the group full, please notify us on +263 777 707 852 and we'll update the link.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.