Zanu-PF Politburo Decides To Hold Primary Election Reruns, To Send Independent Verification Teams

Speaking to journalists after a Zanu-PF politburo meeting, the party’s secretary for administration Obert Mpofu said they resolved to hold primary election re-runs in less than 10 constituencies and to send independent verification teams in areas where irregularities and malpractices were recorded.

Mpofu said the commissariat depart will publish a list of approved candidates. Zanu-PF national commissar Retired Lieutenant-General Egelbert Rugeje had already published a list of candidates on Wednesday. Said Mpofu:

The commissariat department will communicate with constituencies where a re-run has been ordered. The Politburo has approved a list of those candidates that won in the primary elections and the details will be published by the commissariat department

Mpofu said reruns will be conducted in constituencies in Mashonaland West and Harare. Christopher Mutsvangwa lost the primary election in Norton which is in Mashonaland West. It remains to be seen if President Emmerson Mnangagwa did order a rerun to save his ally who has openly challenged his defeat to Langton Mutendereki. 

Download the Pindula App for a better user experience.

Join WhatsApp & Telegram News Groups:

WhatsApp Group: https://chat.whatsapp.com/D3p2N7OV4gTKVkg5QwUdvY

Telegram Group:

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share Full Post