Zanu-PF Will Hold Re-runs For Primary Elections In Select Constituencies: General Rugeje

Zanu-PF national political commissar, Lieutenant-General Engelbert Rugeje (Retired) has confirmed that his party will hold poll re-runs of the just ended primary elections in select constituencies. The primary elections were marred by allegations of vote rigging, intimidation, violence and vote buying. Rugeje indicated that the party was still going through a number of appeals Said Rugeje,

We continue with the announcement of the candidates that were successful in the contestation of our candidates.Yesterday (Wednesday) I gave out names of candidates who were successful for the National Assembly and I left out some names that had not reached our offices by close of business yesterday.

As I indicated yesterday there are certain constituencies which we are going to have a re-run of the primary elections. The National Elections Commission is going through a number of appeals and after their adjudication, we will then determine which constituencies are going to be re-run in terms of primaries.

Are you in Zimbabwe?
Read Pindula News without data on your phone on
Only Applicable to Econet lines


Special advisor to President Emmerson Mnangagwa, Christopher Mutsvangwa has refused to accept his defeat in Norton and has been highly critical of Rugeje. Mutsvangwa has claimed that even Mnangagwa is not safe and may lose the upcoming 2018 election under Rugeje.

More: Chronicle


Christopher MutsvangwaEngelbert RugejeNational Assembly

Christopher Mutsvangwa, commonly referred to as just Chris Mutsvangwa is a Zimbabwean politician, and special advisor to President Emmerson Mnangagwa. Mutsvangwa is businessman .In December 2017 he was appointed as the Secretary for Science and Technology in Zanu-PF. Mutsvangwa contested in the 2018 harmonized elections... Read More About Christopher Mutsvangwa

Engelbert Rugeje is a Zimbabwean politician who is a member of the Zanu-PF party.He is also the current Secretary for Commissariat for Zanu-PF after being appointed in December 2017.He is also the former chief of staff for the Zimbabwe National Army. Read More About Engelbert Rugeje

The National Assembly is one of the organs of the parliament in Zimbabwe. The other being the Senate. The National Assembly in Zimbabwe consists of 270 MPs. Of these, 210 MPs are elected directly in 210 physical constituencies spread across the country. The remaining 60... Read More About National Assembly

Join WhatsApp & Telegram News Groups:

WhatsApp Group:

Telegram Group:

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share Full Post

Nyaradzo logo

RSS Recent Profiles Created

Satisfaction survey
How likely is it that you would recommend Pindula News to a friend or colleague?
SuggestionsHow can we improve?
You have already submitted your feedback. If you would like to add more feedback please write us on
Zanu-PF Will Hold Re-runs For Primary Elections In Select Constituencies: General Rugeje