Govt To Recruit 734 Heads

In a notice dated January 29, Public Service Commission (PSC) secretary Mrs Pretty Sunguro said they are set to recruit 734 school heads and deputies in Matabeleland region and Masvingo Province. The deadline for applications is March 2.

The vacancies are available in Bulawayo, Masvingo, Matabeleland North and Matabeleland South provinces. Primary and Secondary Education permanent secretary Dr Sylvia Utete-Masango said her ministry had recommended the recruitments and said the number was not unusual.

In Bulawayo Province, nine school heads are required; four for secondary and five for primary schools as well as four deputy heads for secondary schools and nine deputy heads for primary schools. 117 secondary school heads and 88 primary school heads, as well as 151 deputy heads for both primary and secondary schools will be recruited in Masvingo Province. Matabeleland North has 176 posts for deputy primary school heads and five deputy secondary schools heads. There are 175 vacant posts for deputy heads at primary school level in Matabeleland South.

The notice says applicants for the headmasters’ post must be holders of a degree with a relevant teaching subject and a relevant Master’s degree would be an added advantage. They must have at least two years’ experience as deputy head. Applicants for deputy head vacancies must also be university graduates and holders of primary or secondary teachers’ certificates or diplomas. They must also have a commendable work experience as senior teachers or should have occupied an equivalent grade.

More: Herald

Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

RSS Recent Profiles Created

Satisfaction survey
How likely is it that you would recommend Pindula News to a friend or colleague?
SuggestionsHow can we improve?
You have already submitted your feedback. If you would like to add more feedback please write us on