Zimbabwe’s Sifiso Dabengwa Appointed in Eskom Board

Zimbabwean born Sifiso Dabengwa has been appointed as one of the board members in the new South African power utility, Eskom board following the removal of Eskom executives implicated in corruption.

The new Eskom board will be chaired by Telkom Chairperson Jabu Mabuza who is also the president of Business Unity South Africa (BUSA), He will be joined by 12 other board members which include Dabengwa, Sindi Mabaso-Koyana, Mark Lamberti, Prof Tshepo Mongalo, Prof Malegapuru Makgoba, Busisiwe Mavuso, Nelisiwe Magubane, Dr Rod Crompton, George Sebulela, Dr Pulane Molokwane,  Dr Banothile Makhubela, Jacky Molisane.

Dabengwa earned a bachelor of science in engineering from the University of Zimbabwe, as well as an MBA from the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg. Between receiving his first degree and his second, Dabengwa spent a few years serving as a trainee on the British Rail, and eventually on the Zimbabwe Railways. He is also a former MTN CEO.

This is not the first time Dabengwa has been appointed in Eskom’s board. Before working at MTN, he sat on the management board at Eskom and one of his most notable achievements there was planning and implementing the national electrification program which increased electricity in South African households from 35 percent in 1990 to 84 percent in 2011.

Quick NetOne, Telecel, Africom, And Econet Airtime Recharge

If anything goes wrong, click here to enter your query.

Sifiso DabengwaUniversity of ZimbabweZimbabwe

Raymond Sifiso Ndlovu Dabengwa is Zimbabwean telecoms executive who is based in South Africa. He is mostly known for his former role as CEO of the MTN Group. Dabengwa was the Group President and Chief Executive Officer of MTN Group until November 2015. Prior to... Read More About Sifiso Dabengwa

The University of Zimbabwe is the oldest tertiary institution in Zimbabwe that offers degrees, diplomas and certificates in various disciplines such as agriculture and law. Read More About University of Zimbabwe

The Republic of Zimbabwe is a country located in the Southern Africa region. Its capital city is Harare and the country has 10 provinces. Zimbabwe is 390,580 sq km and is bordered on all sides by other countries (Zambia in the north, South Africa in... Read More About Zimbabwe

News On WhatsApp

Tap to join WhatsApp Group (no discussions)

If you find the group full, please see the WhatsApp page to let us know.


Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.