No PSL promotion play-offs, 4 teams in and 4 teams out

Use EcoCash to buy NetOne & Telecel airtime online. Tap here

There will be no promotion play-offs in the recently Premier Soccer League (PSL). The PSL was expanded to 18 teams from 16 last year after a standoff  with Zifa on the number of teams to be relegated and promoted.

Zifa Southern chairman Musa Mandaza said:

There won’t be play-offs. We can’t continue going back. At the end of the year the winners from the four regional First Division leagues will get automatic promotion into the PSL. That’s what we’ve agreed on

The only time when two teams will be promoted into the PSL is when there is a National First Division League. Right now there’s no National First Division League, which is provided for in the constitution, and hence we can’t talk of two clubs going into the PSL. This relegation and promotion issue, which has been a thorn in the flesh for sometime, will be ironed out at the Zifa annual general meeting.

More: Chronicle

Premier Soccer LeagueZIFA

Football in Zimbabwe cannot be fully understood without mentioning the Premier Soccer League. The Zimbabwe Premier Soccer League is the country’s top flight football league which runs every year with about 16 teams from different regions of the country. The football initiative which is the... Read More About Premier Soccer League

Zimbabwe Football Association (ZIFA) is the football governing body responsible for organizing all football competitions. Read More About ZIFA

WhatsApp Discussions

Click to subscribe to a Pindula WhatsApp Group:

If you find the group full, please notify us on +263 777 707 852 and we'll update the link.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.