Dokora threatens teachers who are failing to implement new curriculum

Use EcoCash to buy NetOne & Telecel airtime online. Tap here

Speaking at a meeting with school heads from the Midlands Province, Minister of Primary and Secondary Education, Dr Lazarus Dokora, yesterday threatened teachers with early retirement for failing to understand and appreciate the new education curriculum.

Said Dokora:

We cannot move on like this. There are going to be a lot of causalities. Now do you want us to review the retirement age of teaching downwards because we can lobby Government for that? I was surprised when I went to Mutare and realised that there are teachers who are not aware of this document (curriculum). Yesterday when we were in Mashonaland West Province some teachers stood up and testified that they had not seen such a document. It is the same story in five other provinces that we have visited.Now there are two things, when we said on 28 November, 2014 school headmasters should superintendent over the consultation of the new curriculum most of them delegated. When they delegated they did not get a full feedback on what transpired. When we met school headmasters in Nyanga they said they were not privy to the goings on. We released enough copies for all schools in the country.

The ministry is moving around provinces unpacking the new curriculum to school heads to ensure that all teachers become aware of, and grasp the rationale behind the new learning programme.

More: Sunday News


Lazarus DokoraMashonaland West ProvinceMidlands Province

Lazarus Dokora is a Zimbabwean politician and the former Minister of Primary and Secondary education. Dokora is a member of the Zanu-PF political party. He is a former Member of Parliament for Rushinga Constituency. Read More About Lazarus Dokora

Mashonaland West Province is one of the ten provinces in Zimbabwe. Its administrative capital is Chinhoyi. It includes areas such as Kariba, Hurungwe, Makonde, Chinhoyi, Zvimba, Norton, Chegutu, Kadoma, Mhondoro-Ngezi, Sanyati and Karoi. Read More About Mashonaland West Province

Midlands Province is one of the ten provinces in Zimbabwe. It has an area of 49,166 square kilometres (18,983 sq mi) and a population of 1,614,941 according to the 2012 census.It is home to various peoples. The province also has a blend of Shona, Ndebele,... Read More About Midlands Province

WhatsApp Discussions

Click to subscribe to a Pindula WhatsApp Group:

If you find the group full, please notify us on +263 777 707 852 and we'll update the link.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.