How African countries voted in the CAF presidential elections

On the 16th of March, Issa Hayatou was deposed as the president of the Confederation of African Football after 29 years in power. He was defeated resoundingly by Ahmad Ahmad of Madagascar by a vote of 34 votes to 20. With most of the credit of the upset going to Phillip Chiyangwa the President of ZIFA and Cosafa, who was Ahmad’s campaign manager.

Some people were interested in knowing who had voted to retain Hayatou or who had voted for change. Here is how they voted.


Anjorin Moucharafou (Benin Republic)
Sidiki A Roko (Cameroon)
Victor Osorio (Cape Verde)
Andres-Jorge Mbomio (Equatorial Guinea)
Pierre Alain Mounguengui (Gabon)
Lamin Kaba Bajo (The Gambia)
Mohamed Souare-(Guinea)
Augustino (South Sudan)
Manuel Lopes Nascimento (Guinea Bissau)
Jafaar (Libya)
Vincent Nzamwita (Rwanda)
Ravia Idarus Fahinda (Zanzibar)
Jamal Malinzi (Tanzania)
Mohamed Raouraoua (Algeria)
Augustin Senghor (Senegal)
Reverien Ndikuriyo (Burundi)
Kossi Akpovy (Togo)
Tourqui Salim (Comoros)
Abdiqani Said Arab (Somalia)
Mutasim Gafaar Sirelkhatim (Sudan)


Mclean Letshwiti (Botswana)
Edouard Ngaissona (Central Africa Republic)
Mahamoud Moctar (Chad)
Souleiman Hassan Waberi (Djibouti)
Jean Michel Mbono (Congo)
Domingos Monteiro (Sao Tome e Principe)
Omari Constant Selemani (DR Congo)
Augustin Sidy Diallo (Cote d’Ivoire)
Boubacar Diarra (Mali)
Hany Abo Rida (Egypt)
Elvis Chetty (Seychelles)
Juneidi Tilmo (Ethiopia)
Kwesi Nyantakyi (Ghana)
Salemane Phafane (Lesotho)
Ahmad Ahmad (Madagascar)
Walter Nyamilandu (Malawi)
Mohamed Ally Samir Sobha (Mauritius)
Fouzi Lekjaa (Morocco)
Alberto Junior (Mozambique)
Frans Mbidi (Namibia)
Melvin Amaju Pinnick (Nigeria)
Isha Johansen (Sierra Leone)
Sita Sangare (Burkina Faso)
Danny Jordaan (South Africa)
Adam Mthethwa (Swaziland)
Musa Bility (Liberia)
Wadie Jary (Tunisia)
Moses Magogo (Uganda)
Andrew Kamanga (Zambia)
Phillip Chiyangwa (Zimbabwe)
Ahmed Yahya (Mauritania)
Nicholas Mwendwa Kithuku
Artur de Almeida (Angola)

More: Zambia Reports


Quick NetOne, Telecel, Africom, And Econet Airtime Recharge

If anything goes wrong, click here to enter your query.

Phillip ChiyangwaZIFA

Dr.Phillip Chiyangwa is a Zanu-PF politician, businessman, actor, socialite, football administrator and controversial personality in Zimbabwe. Chiyangwa is the former President of ZIFA and current president of COSAFA. He is the current Member of Parliament for Zvimba South after having won in the July 2018... Read More About Phillip Chiyangwa

Zimbabwe Football Association (ZIFA) is the football governing body responsible for organizing all football competitions. Read More About ZIFA

News On WhatsApp

Tap to join WhatsApp Group(no discussions)

If you find the group full, please notify us on +263 777 784 119 or +263 732 464 000.


Back to top

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.